Best of 2010

$16.99
ISBN: 9780374380601
Availability: Special Order
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - October 12th, 2010

Best Picture Book of the Year? I say so. A wonderful and honest story about patience, anxiety and comfort with exceptional illustrations. As a young boy waits for his mother to get ready to run errands, he imagines what it might be like to go outside alone. Feeling grown-up, his mind lures him into an urban den of wolves. When accompanied by his mother, on the other hand, those wolves seem more like smoke in mirrors. Best for ages 3-5.


$21.95
ISBN: 9780810989658
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - October 2010

What a beautiful and extraordinary book. I would have loved to have this read to me when I was 4 or 5 years old. The ultimate bedtime adventure book. Surely this one will be read over and over again as parents and their little ones get lost in the lore and magical illustrations. Best for ages 3-6.


By Marla Frazee, Marla Frazee (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442401679
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 31st, 2010

Here's what one of our "Kid Critic" families had to say: Our whole family already has this fantastic book memorized. We thought it was worth a group review -- each kid has an attribution for their bit: It was funny because it showed what the baby thought was real -- babies really do think they're the boss! - David, 10. I loved the part where he picked up the thingy that's like a phone and called a meeting. - Zoe, 5. I loved how he thought he looked like a boss, carrying a briefcase half as big as him - Lizzie, 8. Mine! -Ben, 2


By Mo Willems, Jon J. Muth, Jon J. Muth (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781423103004
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 8th, 2010

Surely a Caldecott contender, this lovely picture book is a retelling of a classic tale with the special touch of two outstanding children*s book creators. The layered story of the friendship between a city dog and a country frog is heartbreaking, heartwarming and memorable. You*ll want to share this one. Best for ages 2-6.


$16.99
ISBN: 9780374349080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - October 26th, 2010

Anthony Browne is clearly a genius. His picture book talents seem limitless. This is Goldilocks like you've never seen her before. Browne's new perspectives on the story are layered and enchanted. The lore and urban setting will change you're imaginings forever. Best for ages 2-6


$16.99
ISBN: 9780439852098
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 2010

This has to be Blue Balliett's most exciting book yet. If you open the Danger Box you won't be able to put it down! Balliett's combination of mystery and science is a middle-grade treat and her compassionate characters help us understand different perspectives. This book is sure to delight fans new and old. Perfect for family reading or curious young readers in search of a smart adventure story. Best for ages 9-11.


$16.99
ISBN: 9780763643003
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 12th, 2010

This fictional account of Carrie and her friend Zora (Neale Hurston) is a wonderful romp through the childhood of a literary great. The novel does immense justice to the complexities of race, community, family ties, and local legend. Zora's imagination shines and this book is sure to be a fall favorite, award winner and educational tool.
Best for ages 9 *11, and adult.


By Kate Milford, Andrea Offermann (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780547241876
Availability: Special Order
Published: Clarion Books - May 1st, 2010

This story will grab you and shake your bones. When a medicine show with a dark cast of characters comes to town, there is more at stake than the aftermath of your average snake oil salesman and hucksters. Young Natalie unravels the history of her town and her family as she discovers her role in the continual balance between good and evil. Best for independent readers ages 9-12.


$15.99
ISBN: 9780316043076
Availability: Special Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 16th, 2010

Rhodes pays tribute to the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, the breaking of the levees, and the New Orleans spirit in this upcoming novel. She doesn't talk down to young readers, as she describes the harrowing experience of a fictionalized, yet strikingly accurate account of a young girl and her fortitude during our country's most recent natural and shameful disaster. Heavy with humidity and southern lore, we recommend this book for readers age 9 & up, and all educators.


$16.99
ISBN: 9780763637224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 28th, 2010

Model trains and time travel, who could ask for more? A story both endearing and adventurous that your young man (or lady!) won't want to miss out on. On The Blue Comet is undoubtedly one of the best reads of 2010.


Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780316090537
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 2nd, 2010

One of our teen critics, Jen (age 17), had this review of The Mockingbirds:
"In My Own Words: The Mockingbirds chronicles the decisions Alex, a student at a prestigious boarding school, takes after she is date raped. Since the school frowns upon indications that the students are even slightly unpleasant, Alex takes her plight to the mockingbirds, a secret student-run justice group. As Alex slowly begins to remember more of the circumstances surrounding her rape, she becomes more certain that the path she has chosen is right. This story is entrancingly told, and it was impossible for me to put this book down. I highly recommend this book to older teen readers."


$18.99
ISBN: 9780385737630
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - October 12th, 2010

Andi finds Alexandrine's diary which allows her to learn more about the French Revolution period. She begins to understand the depth and breadth of the violence and becomes engaged in Alexandrine's own heartbreaking story. As the novel progresses, the lives of Andi and Alex become nearly seamless. Through this dramatic conflation of identities, Andi is able to bring her personal terrors into a healthy, life-saving framework.
This is a wonderful book for teens, especially those hesitant to dive into historical fiction.


$16.99
ISBN: 9780375844553
Availability: Special Order
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - September 14th, 2010

An excellent treatment of "coming home" after military service in the Middle East, from the perspective of a younger, teenage brother. Reinhardt explores the world of contemporary young men and brotherhood, in this original, yet increasingly familiar story. Important ideas about family, country, duty, generational expectations, and how our experiences can change us are among the many important topics that are made accessible through the engaging teen characters. Best for ages 12 & up.


$17.99
ISBN: 9781595143372
Availability: Special Order
Published: Razorbill - September 21st, 2010

Surely a contender for the Cuffie Award--Best Jacket Art. Very scary! Great new horror fiction for teens looking for human monster adventures. A nice change of pace for paranormal characters. A male lead, but with heroines galore. Best for ages 12 & up.


By Scott Westerfeld, Keith Thompson (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781416971740
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon Pulse - August 10th, 2010

Teen steam-punk by a YA great. Excellent Darwin-based discussions of organic vs. mechanic and a fun fast-paced plot. Best for ages 12 & up.


$15.99
ISBN: 9780763632663
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 14th, 2010

Absolutely wonderful. No scimping on vocabulary or character development. A fun new story of an everyday friendship between two average AND exceptional girls. Bink & Gollie's voices and imaginations are unique and unforgettable. Exceptional stand-alones for those not quite ready for chapter books are rare, and this one definitely stands out. Best for ages 5-7.


By Atinuke, Lauren Tobia (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781935279730
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Kane/Miller Book Publishers - September 2010

Another stand-out early reader. This collection of stories about the antics and experiences of mischievous and adorable Anna, her twin baby brothers Double and Trouble, and her whole great big loving family with whimsical illustrations make it perfect for those just getting ready for chapter books. Best for ages 6-8.


By Aaron Renier, Aaron Renier (Illustrator), Alec Longstreth (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781596434530
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - August 17th, 2010

A fantastical graphic novel adventure that kids will love. Fans of Rapunzel's Revenge & Calamity Jack will take to this story immediately. Undersea creatures, pirates, magical elements, mechanical devices and loads of action will have them turning the colorful pages with swift young hands. This installment ends in a cliffhanger that will leave kids craving the next volume. Best for ages 7-11.


By Herve Bouchard, Janice Nadeau (Illustrator), Helen Mixter (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781554980758
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Groundwood Books - October 2010

Somewhere between graphic novel and illustrated book, this book is one of the most unique and imaginative I've seen this year. The basic story is simple: a boy learns of his father*s death, but Harvey*s world is rich and delicate. It feels a bit like reading straight into a dream and definitely warrants more than one read. Best for ages 11 & up.


By Joyce Sidman, Beckie Prange (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780618717194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 5th, 2010

A brilliant hybrid of poetry, science, and illustration. This book describes and celebrates those pervasive things that *seem to be everywhere at the same time, *from bacteria to grass to coyotes. The poems are in a variety of styles and are a great complement to the straight-ahead factual information also in the book. With its stellar design, it*s bound to appeal to everyone from young children to adults, from poetry and art lovers to those curious about science.