#1960Now: Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests

product image
$30.00
The fight for equality continues, from 1960 to now. Combining portraits of past and present social justice activists with documentary images from recent protests throughout the United States, #1960Now sheds light on the parallels between the 1960s Civil Rights Movement and the Black Lives Matter movement of today. Shelia Pree Bright's striking black-and-white photographs capture the courage and conviction of '60s elder statesmen and a new generation of activists, offering a powerful reminder that the fight for justice is far from over. #1960Now represents an important new contribution to American protest photography.

- Puts the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960's in direct conversation with Black Lives Matter
- Introduction from Black Lives Matter co-founder Alicia Garza
- Builds on the appeal of #1960Now and @sheepreebright on Instagram

Fans of Training School for Negro Girls, Martha Rosler: Irrespective, and Charles White: A Retrospective will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
- Politically engaged folks of all ages
- Fine art photography buffs
- Black Lives Matter and Civil Rights era activists
- Community organizers

ISBN: 
9781452170725
Author: 
Publisher: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publication Date: 
October 23, 2018