The Americans

product image
$15.99
A POIGNANT AND UNIVERSAL STORY ABOUT THE IMMIGRANT EXPERIENCE AND THE SEARCH FOR IDENTITY Tara, a single Indian woman in her mid-thirties, travels from Chennai to America to look after her teenage niece while her sister Kamala is dealing with her autistic son's treatment and issues at school. But theirs is just one story of many. Expertly woven together, The Americans tells the stories of eleven Indians, whose lives span the country from Louisville to Chicago to Los Angeles to Portland, to Boston, all navigating life in a foreign land. And all of their stories connect back to Tara. For fans of Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies and Dinaw Mengestu's The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears, The Americans is an eloquent and heart-warming debut from an exciting new voice that illuminates questions of race, ethnicity and point of origin, and explores the puzzles of identity, place and human connection.
ISBN: 
9789351369851
Publisher: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publication Date: 
August 4, 2015