Eight Modern Plays

Eight Modern Plays
The most accurate and readable translations have been chosen for plays originally in foreign languages, including a new translation of Pirandello's Six Characters in Search of an Author by Anthony Caputi, based on the definitive Italian text of 1925.

Each play has been carefully annotated for the student reader--foreign words and phrases are translated, allusions beyond the range of general knowledge are explained, and historical material is included as needed.

A comprehensive "Backgrounds and Criticism" section provides supporting materials by each playwright represented--letters, essays, authors' notes--as well as a broad sampling of critical reviews and interpretations for each play.

A Selected Bibliography is also included.
Publication Date: 
April 17, 1991