Brandi Collins Dexter - "Black Skinhead"

Thursday, October 20, 2022 - 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Event Presenter/Author: 
Brandi Collins Dexter

Brandi Collins Dexter will discuss her new book Black Skinheads: Reflections on Blackness and Our Political Future. She will be joined in conversation by Joel Rhone.

Presented in partnership with the Center for the Study of Race, Politics and Culture

This event will be held in person at the Seminary Co-op Bookstore. At this time, masks are required for in-store events.

REGISTER HERE 

About the book: For fans of Bad Feminist and The Sum of Us, Black Skinhead sparks a radical conversation about Black America and political identity. In Black SkinheadBrandi Collins-Dexter, former Senior Campaign Manager for Color Of Change, explores the fragile alliance between Black voters and the Democratic party. Through sharp, timely essays that span the political, cultural, and personal, Collins-Dexter reveals decades of simmering disaffection in Black America, told as much through voter statistics as it is through music, film, sports, and the baffling mind of Kanye West. While Black Skinhead is an outward look at Black votership and electoral politics, it is also a funny, deeply personal, and introspective look at Black culture and identity, ultimately revealing a Black America that has become deeply disillusioned with the failed promises of its country.

About the author: Brandi Collins-Dexter is the former Senior Campaign Director at Color Of Change, where she oversaw the media, culture, and economic justice departments. She led a number of successful corporate accountability campaigns ranging from getting R. Kelly dropped from RCA to pressuring financial companies to pull funding from over 100 hate groups. She has testified in front of Congress on issues related to race, technology and corporate accountability. Brandi is a regular commentator in the media on racial justice and was named a 2017 “person to watch” by The Hill and one of the 100 most influential African Americans by The Root in 2019. She holds a B.A. in history from Agnes Scott College, and a J.D. from University of Wisconsin-Madison Law School. She is a visiting fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy. Brandi comes from a long line of South Side Chicagoans and currently lives in Baltimore with her husband David and their cat, Ella.

About the interlocutor: Joel Rhone is a PhD candidate at the University of Chicago. He won the Marshall Scholarship as an undergraduate at Howard University in 2015, and as a graduate student he has curated Court Theatre’s Deep Dive into the World of August Wilson, lectured for the NFL Media Book Club, and held a teaching fellowship at the Center for the Study of Race, Politics and Culture. Joel also co-founded the Reproduction of Race and Racial Ideologies working group, which now functions as the CSRPC Dissertation Incubator, and he currently works as an editor at Chicago Review. Joel’s dissertation tracks the representational paradigms that have shaped institutional commitments to inclusion since the Cold War, and his public-facing work can be found in The Point Magazine, The Drift, and The Los Angeles Review of Books.

Event Location: 
Seminary Co-op Bookstores
5751 S Woodlawn Ave
Chicago, IL 60637