Elissa Altman - "Treyf" - UChicago Hillel

Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Elissa Altman discusses Treyf: My Life as an Unorthodox Outlaw.

Co-sponsored by UChicago Hillel

At the Co-op

RSVP HERE

About the book: Treyf, according to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit.
 
Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets.
 
While the suburban promise of The Brady Bunch blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, Treyf captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

About the author: Elissa Altman is the critically-acclaimed, award-winning author of Poor Man's Feast: A Love Story of Comfort, Desire, and the Art of Simple Cooking, the James Beard Award-winning blog of the same name, the Washington Post column Feeding My Mother, and a finalist for the Frank McCourt Memoir Prize. She is a contributor to publications ranging from Tin House and Dame Magazine to O: The Oprah Magazine, Saveur, and the New York Times and has spoken live at TEDx on the moral imperative to care for senior citizens.

About the co-sponsor: UChicago Hillel is the center and catalyst for Jewish life at the University of Chicago. Part of Hillel International, UChicago Hillel’s mission is to enrich the lives of Jewish students so that they may enrich the Jewish people and the world. Hillel welcomes students of all backgrounds and hopes to foster an enduring commitment to Jewish life, learning and Israel. 

Event Location: 
Seminary Co-op Bookstore
5751 S. Woodlawn Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637