Operation Kronstadt:The Greatest True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, the Man with a Hundred Faces

Available for Special Order
product image
$16.95
Paul Dukes?a 30-year-old concert pianist, master of disguise dubbed "The Man with a Hundred Faces," and the only English spy in Russia?was cut off in Petrograd after infiltrating the Bolshevik Government and stealing top-secret information. With the government in London desperately in need of the documents in Dukes' possession and the Bolshevik secret police closing in, a seemingly suicidal plan was hatched to rescue Dukes. 29-year-old naval lieutenant Gus Agar and his handpicked team of seven men boarded plywood boats - the fastest naval vessels in existence, most armed with only two machine guns and a single torpedo. They set out for the island fortress of Kronstadt, the most well-defended naval target in Russian, and into the jaws of the Soviet police. Written by a former MI6 officer in the tradition of Agent Zigzag, Operation Kronstadt is an extraordinarily gripping non- fiction thriller.
ISBN: 
9781590203378
Author: 
Publisher: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publication Date: 
August 3, 2010