The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry

Available for Special Order
The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry
This third volume of The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry brings lesser-known Irish voices to our American audience. Editor and renowned poet Conor O'Callaghan has selected poetry by Colette Bryce, Justin Quinn, John McAuliffe, Maurice Riordan, and Gerard Fanning. Additionally, O'Callaghan includes interviews with each author. From the depressed economy of the 1980s through the Celtic Tiger of the 1990s to the current enforced austerity campaign, Ireland has come "full circle." The works of these five poets reflect that journey with vital and various voices. O'Callaghan, an Irish poet himself, states: "These poets generally breathed fresh air into poetry in Ireland. If post-modernism means anything, it means choosing one's own tradition from whatever source."
Publication Date: 
July 1, 2013